Two men wearing white chef coats sampling a plated dessert

Judges Application Process

As an American Culinary Federation competition judge, you have the opportunity to participate on the other side of intense culinary competitions. It is a meaningful way to put your culinary knowledge to work while being exposed to new trends.

You can also receive continuing education hours to put towards upgrading or renewing your certification.

Download the Application

Or call us at (800) 624-9458 and we will send you the application through the mail.

Prerequisite for Being a Culinary Judge

  • Be an ACF member in good standing
  • Be ACF certified at the CSC/CWPC level or higher
  • Have won Four Gold medals within the last 10 years
    • one in Category F4 or FP-1
    • one in Category A and one in Category B OR two in Category C
    • one in either Category K, or KP
    These medals must be either ACF or a major WACS approved culinary competition (Culinary World Cup, Culinary Olympics). Winning a gold medal in a centerpiece category does not fulfill the medal requirement for being a judge. Judges are encouraged to compete internationally, in order to gain valuable experience.
  • Be approved for training by the chair of the Culinary Competition Committee
  • Being a CMC, a past manager, coach or member of ACF Culinary Team USA (official regional or national team only), or an ACF Youth Team Manager fulfills the medal prerequisite for becoming a judge. However, all other criteria must still be met.

Judging Training/Experience Criteria

  • Apprentice judge a minimum of five ACF-certified culinary competitions over a period of two years. Of these competitions, three must be Category F, FP, K or KP.
  • Attend the judges’ training seminar offered at the national convention and/or regional conferences.

To maintain ACF-approved judge qualification

  • Retain currency as an ACF member in good standing.
  • Retain currency in the required level of ACF certification.
  • Judge a minimum of two competitions every two years.
  • Attend a judges training seminar once ever two years.